University of South Florida home page

institute for research in art

previous artist
next artist

25th Annual Juried
USF Student Exhibition



March 31 - April 20, 2001

Director's Statement

The 25th Annual Juried Student Exhibition offers students, faculty and the community an opportunity to review student work in the broader context of contemporary art practice and from the perspective of a nationally recognized arts professional. Each year the juror, an artist, critic, or gallery/museum professional, makes a selection from the actual artworks submitted by both undergraduate and graduate students. In recent years the jurors have tended to select a small show constituting the most successful and promising works from their perspective. The competition is very tough.

This year's juror, Larissa Harris, Assistant Curator of PS1 Contemporary Art Center in New York, selected 26 works from over 200 entries and designated the 16 award winners. In Art History, we appreciate the time and efforts of Dr. Elisabeth Fraser (USF Art Department) and Dr. Paula Lee (USF Humanities Department) who graciously served as readers for the papers that were submitted and selected the award winners.

Over the past 25 years that we have hosted the exhibition, we have been fortunate to have our student's artwork reviewed by distinguished jurors who have done their very best to identify the most advanced work. The list of past jurors includes Marcia Tucker (1977), Roberta Smith (1988) the Guerilla Girls (1992) and the Art Guys (2000).

I would like to thank members of the USF CAM staff, Alexa Favata, Don Fuller, Abigail Keough, Tony Palms, James Rodger and Randy West as well as Christine Spell, CAM's intern, who worked tirelessly to make this exhibition a success.

Each year, a group of loyal friends from the community, the Art Department and Graphicstudio, join the museum and support the students by contributing prize money. We are very appreciative of this support as it adds to the vitality and excitement of the exhibition.

Congratulations to all the artists in the exhibition and to the award recipients.

Margaret Miller
Professor of Art
Contemporary Art Museum

Chair's Statement

On behalf of the students, faculty and staff of the USF Art Department, welcome to the Silver Anniversary of the Student Art Exhibition. We send special thanks to the outstanding staff of the Contemporary Art Museum, our supportive community donors for the awards and Larissa Harris, juror of the exhibition.

For a quarter of a century this exhibition has annually showcased the freshest and most dynamic student artwork produced anywhere. This year's student artists, like hundreds before them, will ultimately mark this event as a passage to the future. USF students have gone on to become leaders in the visual arts throughout the world.

Congratulations to all of the exhibitors; we are proud of your achievements and share the excitement of your future!

Wallace Wilson
Chair, Art Department
University of South Florida

Juror's Statement

As a person who works with artists at the beginning of their careers, I was interested in what kind of work was going on "at school" – at a stage just before the stage of work I often see. In looking over the work submitted for this show, I was reminded that there are many worlds of art-making. There are people, even in school, whose artwork attempts to take part in the very specific, recognizable conversation occurring in the cities around the world where most contemporary art is made. As a person coming from that particular conversation, these were the works to which I was most attracted. There are other realms of art-making in which mastery of a single medium is emphasized; where works made by the hand of the artist are privileged over works made by a fabricator. I included some of these works as well, because this is the world where all artists start.

Larissa Harris
Assistant Curator
PS1 Contemporary Art Center, NY

Artists & Awards

Enee Abelman, Saints, Sinners, Sisters. Photography
Jeanne Rozier Winter Award, $250.00

Nazanin Arandi, Believing. Video
Anne Kantor Award, $100.00

Jennifer Armstrong, Configured Produce. Photography

Lisa Frye Ashe, Sins of Addition. Paper
CAM Merit Award, $100.00

Jenny Burton, Wiggle Free. Plaster
CAM Merit Award, $100.00

Heather Cushman-Dowdee, Hathor at the Million Mom March. Mixed/Video
Lee and Victor Leavengood Award, $150.00

James Kevin Dowdee, All of This and Still No Return... Mixed
James Rosenquist Materials Award, $500.00

Leslie Elsasser, Lepidoptera. Silkscreen
Graphicstudio Printmaking Award, $150.00

Erin Erickson, Symphony. Sculpture

Matt Fjelstad, Observation Station 1. Mixed
Graphicstudio Sculpture Award, $150.00

Danielle Frey, Heart of America. Photography
Ferman Motor Car Company Award, $250.00

Lesley Glynn, Untitled. Photography
Ann McKeel Ross Award, $100.00

Lisa Hertzler, My Heart's Desire. Video/Sculpture
CAM Merit Award, $100.00

Tanya Hester, Family Portrait. Collage

Jason Irwin, American Trucking Trade Show Display. Mixed
CAM Merit Award, $100.00

Carla Jimenez, West Side Barber Shop. Photography

Susan Kelliher, Two Ethiopian Codices. Paper
CAM Merit Award, $100.00

Margaret Kerrigan, Missing You. Photography
Judy Patterson Award, $100.00

William Kumberger, God Hates Me. Photography
Art Department Faculty & Staff Award, $200.00

Kalup Donte Linzy, Conversations Wit Da. Chirin Video

Carole Loeffler, Excerpt of Being. Mixed
Dali Museum Award of Excellence, $500.00

Thaneeya McArdle, Puja/No Contest. Acrylic
CADRE Award, $100.00

Kyle Morton, Business As Usual. Video

Kathie Olivas and Catherine L. Thompson, Always a Bride, Never a Housewife. Monocollograph

Frank Openchowski, Nonsense. Video
CAM Merit Award, $100.00

James Rodger, American Ganesha. Ceramic

Steven Strenk, Bugs. Charcoal